Opinion

web1_161118-TUK-drowsy-driving-tsr

Paying the price of drowsy driving |GUEST OPINION

Imagine this: You’ve enjoyed a fun weekend in Eastern Washington, but you…

 

web1_Letters-to-the-Editor-Teaser

Keep opinions local | Letter to the editor

I am disappointed with the article in the October issue “County voters…

  • Nov 16th, 2016

 

web1_000000-TUK-Chuck-Parrish

Crime down on Tukwila International Boulevard | Chuck Parrish

Everyone wants to be safe. Each of us has to make our…

  • Nov 15th, 2016

 

Chuck Parrish

Tukwila’s public safety bond deserves support | Chuck Parrish

The Tukwila public safety Bond will be on the November ballot. The money will cover the construction of fire stations, necessary equipment and a justice center.

  • Oct 19th, 2016
Chuck Parrish
To help make voting more accessible

Let your voice be heard this election | Editor’s Note

Election season is upon us. Ballots for the Nov. 8 general election should arrive in voters' mailboxes this week.

To help make voting more accessible
web1_ballot-box-tsr

Let your voice be heard this election | Editor’s Note

Election season is upon us. Don’t forget to return your ballot.

web1_ballot-box-tsr
4347282_web1_161021-TUK-gary-wasdin_2

Library supports your right to read whatever you choose | Gary Wasdin

"I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings". "To Kill a Mockingbird". "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone" …

  • Oct 19th, 2016
4347282_web1_161021-TUK-gary-wasdin_2
16380tukwila10-11-16KingAweb

King County residents weigh in on presidential race | Election

Three local voters share their views on candidates for the next Commander in Chief.

  • Oct 18th, 2016
16380tukwila10-11-16KingAweb
16380tukwila10-11-16KingAweb

King County residents weigh in on presidential race | Election

Three local voters share their views on candidates for the next Commander in Chief.

  • Oct 18th, 2016
16380tukwila10-11-16KingAweb

Tukwila city, school district invest in future together | Superintendent Nancy Coogan and Mayor Allan Eckberg

October is an exciting month. We not only celebrated Homecoming Week, Oct. 10 - 14 – with all its traditions – but we are also participating in DiscoverU, Oct. 17 - 21.

  • Oct 24th, 2016

Tukwila city, school district invest in future together | Superintendent Nancy Coogan and Mayor Allan Ekberg

October is an exciting month. We not only celebrated Homecoming Week, Oct. 10 - 14 – with all its traditions – but we are also participating in DiscoverU, Oct. 17 - 21.

  • Oct 24th, 2016
Gary Wasdin

Back to school with your library | Guest Op

Summer's end has always been one of my most favorite times of year. I loved going back to school. It meant seeing my friends again and a fresh start with new teachers and new challenges.

  • Sep 21st, 2016
Gary Wasdin
Nancy Coogan

Tukwila schools prepare for SmartLabs, STEAM initiatives | Superintendent Nancy Coogan

Imagine a typical classroom. Are you seeing rows of individual desks aligned toward a lecturing teacher at a blackboard in the front? OK, now erase that. Tukwila schools are aiming for a completely different type of learning environment, and we're taking a major step forward next month when we begin piloting SmartLabs.

Nancy Coogan
Chuck Parrish

Consider candidates carefully as presidential campaign season picks up | Chuck Parrish

It is the post-Labor Day presidential campaign season.

  • Sep 20th, 2016
Chuck Parrish

Thank you, teachers | Editor’s note

The beginning of a new school year is just around the corner.

New business is booming in Tukwila | Chuck Parrish

If you need to watch your waistline, don’t read this.

  • Aug 17th, 2016

Being there is key to success at school | Superintendent Nancy Coogan

It’s almost time for school to start! This is one of the most exciting times of the year for me.

  • Aug 17th, 2016

Tukwila can lead change on racial inequity | Supt. Nancy Coogan

Do we want — and do we all deserve — life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness?

  • Jul 20th, 2016

Committed to quality journalism | Editor’s note

As I take over the Tukwila Reporter for Dean Radford, I know I have big shoes to fill, but I am up for the challenge.

Understanding political correctness can be complicated | Chuck Parrish

Political correctness (PC) is confusing. It can be positive or negative.

Two road projects in Tukwila to watch closely | Chuck Parrish

These are long-term projects. Residents must be patient. Who will pay the bill? Will BNSF choose to participate and to what degree? Are there any reasonable prospects for grants? When preparation meets opportunity, good things can happen. We shall see.

Foster High graduates show Tukwila district’s successes | Supt. Nancy Coogan

I couldn’t be prouder of our graduates. Many overcame unbelievable personal challenges to cross that ceremonial stage on June 10. To our Class of 2016, I want you to know this: The diploma in your hand is proof that you can do anything; you are limitless with infinite possibilities.

  • Jun 17th, 2016

Your dreams do come true | Editor’s Note

That Thursday night in 1969 was the beginning of my "bright" future. I think of last Friday as the ending of that career, grateful that I could share it with other Bulldogs, too.

Fighting homelessness begins with compassion | Editor’s note

It is possible to make homelessness rare, brief and one-time in King County – including Tukwila – the goal of All Home, which once was called the Committee to End Homelessness.

  • May 20th, 2016

Tukwila takes action to help the homeless | Supt. Nancy Coogan

Housing instability doesn’t happen to faceless strangers, it happens to families like yours and mine. And no student is “homeless” in the sense of an unshakeable characteristic; rather, they experience “homelessness” for a period of time.

  • May 20th, 2016

What’s chipping away at your health? | Editor’s note

The city’s Parks and Recreation Department is developing an innovative initiative called Healthy Tukwila. It’s bringing attention to the ill effects that sugar and sugary drinks have on our health. You’ll see some changes in what’s available at the vending machines at the Tukwila Community Center and at other city facilities.

Making a healthy start in life in Tukwila’s schools | Supt. Nancy Coogan

Our graduates need to leave fully equipped to take responsibility for their own well-being and success, a cornerstone of which is a healthy lifestyle.

  • Apr 21st, 2016

Replace city facilities, but how, when, where? | Chuck Parrish

Building new structures offers the opportunity to address these challenges and to make it so that departments that work in close cooperation with each other (court and police, for example) will be better situated to do so.

City of Tukwila, school district work together to benefit children | Commentary

Behind the scenes, the city and district are continuing to plan and collaborate together. We hold regular City Council/School Board meetings, executive-cabinet meetings, service-provider meetings, and safety/emergency-preparedness meetings. We discover many intersecting interests, opportunities, efficiencies, and resources when we are in the room together.

  • Mar 17th, 2016

When to run for the hills when politicians speak | Chuck Parrish

If we hear single-issue messages or vague appealing principles, then we are being asked to join their side and don’t worry about the details.

Tukwila says ‘just say no’ to crime on TIB | Editor’s note

No child should ever again come home from school to an apartment not much better than one in a Third World country from which they or their parents fled. Making that happen is mostly beyond the scope of the Police Department’s job description, but it is a job for a caring community.

Who will step up to increase the minimum wage? | Chuck Parrish

During the mayoral campaign, CM Quinn said that, as mayor, he would propose legislation to increase the minimum wage. Perhaps Quinn is willing to do it as a council member. If not, how about our other council members or our mayor? If not, why not?

Feb. 9 election: A head start on early learning | Supt. Nancy Coogan

One of the most important upcoming events that will shape our future is the Feb. 9 election. The Tukwila School District has two levies and one bond measure on the ballot.

  • Jan 18th, 2016

Changing of the mayoral guard will bring change | CHUCK PARRISH

Allan Ekberg will need some time to get up to speed. Having had considerable experience with Tukwila government, this should go pretty smoothly.

Tukwila school measures critically needed | Allan Ekberg, De’Sean Quinn

We urge you to vote YES three times for Tukwila schools on the Feb. 9 ballot. There is a School Programs and Operations Levy, a bond and a Technology Levy.

  • Jan 18th, 2016

Foster’s teachers: Your identity matters to us | An Open Letter to Students

EDITOR'S NOTE: Two members of the Foster High School faculty have written this Open Letter to Students, in solidarity with other Foster teachers, expressing their support for ALL students who attend Foster.

  • Dec 17th, 2015

Levies, bond key to STEAM in Tukwila’s schools | Supt. Nancy Coogan

First things first, we need more space at all of our schools. As you can see, and your students have certainly told us, the buildings are full, and we expect between 18 and 44 percent more students in the coming decade! The bond, therefore, funds construction to provide additional classroom space for grade spans.

  • Dec 17th, 2015

Savor the holidays, Foster’s graduation rate this Thanksgiving | Supt. Nancy Coogan

Yes, there’s an abundance for this superintendent to be grateful for on Thanksgiving! Please treasure your time with your loved ones because that’s what counts the most.

  • Nov 18th, 2015

Campaign is a means to an end | Chuck Parrish

A professionally run campaign is aware of how we think, how we react and what encourages or discourages us to vote. The campaigns are run accordingly.